Winner of the Caldecott Medal Announced

January 26, 2012 at 3:08 pm 1 comment

A Ball for Daisy by Chris Raschka is the Caldecott medal winner for 2012.  The award, named for nineteenth-century English illustrator Randolph Caldecott, is given every year by the American Library Association to the artist of the best American picture book for children.  Three honor books were also named:  Blackout, by John Rocco; Grandpa Green, by Lane Smith; and Me . . . Jane, by Patrick McDonnell.

Chris Raschka is no stranger to the Caldecott.  He won the coveted top spot with The Hello, Goodbye Window in 2006 and an honor medal in 1994 for Yo! Yes?  Mr. Raschka has also illustrated the works of other writers, including Norton Juster, Jack Prelutsky and Sharon Creech.

You can find these and more books illustrated by Chris Raschka through the library’s catalog.  A complete list of past Caldecott winners can be found on the American Library Association’s website.

For more information about materials or events @ your library®, call (813) 273-3652 or visit


Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

Spring Festival Begins Today Homework Help at Thonotosassa

1 Comment

Trackback this post


  • RT @tampaparksrec: Only 2 weeks left to see Creative Arts Theatre Company’s HILARIOUS summer show – THE UGLY DUCKLING! All shows at #libr1 day ago